Sharing in our Growth

You ever have one of those experiences where you stumble across something that totally changes your life?  There is a quote that I really like that says, “We are here to teach what it is that we need to learn ourselves”.  I would like to share with you how that quote played a part in the creation of my first book Brian’s List – 26 ½ Easy to Use Ideas on How to Live a Fun, Balanced, Healthy Life! 

It was in early 2008 as I was struggling with the decision to leave the family business.  Now for those that know me, I am a very driven person and this driven nature has served me well through the years (cross country bicycle ride, triathlons, etc.).  And being the driven person that I was, I wanted to do a couple of things to figure out why I was feeling out of balance and not myself.   After some contemplation I realized that I was burned out from my job.  I wasn’t fulfilled there, nor was I growing anymore.  I knew it was time for a change.  The second thing that I did, I thought it would be a good idea to come up with a handful of ideas that I knew would keep me balanced and centered while I was going through this potential transition in my life.  So I put on my self-awareness cap and wrote down 5 things on a piece of paper.   From that day forward every time I began to feel out of balance or out of center, I would refer to my list and read it. 

Number #1   Make sure I was drinking enough water daily.

Number #2   Make sure that I was getting some daily exercise.

Number #3   Make sure that I was getting enough sleep each night.

Number #4   Allow some time each day to have some alone time so that I could re-energize my system. 

Number #5   Allow some time each day to be creative.  For me being creative means to write or play my guitar.

My little plan helped me out so much as I worked through my transition that I thought hey, why don’t I expand the list and make it into a book to help others in the same way that I helped myself.  So that it was I did!  And boy, am I glad that I did.  I learned a lot about myself in the process, I have met some amazing people at book signings and workshops, the book won a couple of awards (which I am still pinching myself) and most importantly I know that the book has helped others in the same way that I was able to help myself.  And for that I am very proud. And not only that, but as I learned how to find balance in my life I began to truly realize why It is so critical to have it in our lives for many different reasons, most importantly because it gives us a solid base from which to operate.  Without a solid base, it is very difficult to stay focused and move forward toward our goals and dreams. Without balance it can also be a struggle to listen to our intuition and guidance, which is crucial as we learn how to follow our hearts and move forward on our path.  Another reason it is important to have balance in our everyday life is because balance makes it possible to be fully alive and to live by making choices in the moment.  In balance we have the energy, attention and space in our lives to seize new opportunities. We can live proactively, not reactively.   

So I think you can see how the quote “We are here to teach what it is that we need to learn ourselves” played a part in the creation of Brian’s List.  As I worked on and learned how to stay in balance, my path has led me to help others do the same thing.   

Where is your growth taking you?  And how will you be able to help others from what you have learned about yourself? 

Published by: gbrianbenson

Founder of Reawaken Media. Writer, multiple award-winning author, TEDx speaker, actor, filmmaker, storyteller, inspirational poet, radio personality, finisher of over 50 triathlons (including 4 Ironman distance races) and cross-country bicyclist. 2016 is already heating up for Brian as he he has a recurring part on the new TV show Sangre Negra, has been invited to give a TEDx talk in Pasadena at the end of May, was interviewed for the soon to be released documentary The Last Formula and will be releasing his new film short Searching for Happiness in early summer. In addition to acting in TV and film, Brian enjoys creating his own projects. In 2011 Brian created Guitar Man, a movie project that he wrote, produced and acted in that was filmed in downtown Reno, Nevada. The movie was written by Brian with the idea of sharing the messages ‘that we all have a lot in common’ and ‘that our true gifts reside within ourselves.’ Guitar Man was well received and was accepted to 11 movie festivals and was a winner at the Love Unlimited Film and Art Festival, won an honorable mention prize in the narrative short category at the 2011 Los Angeles Movie Awards as well as a Golden Reel Award from the Nevada Film Festival. Before Brian got into acting he authored four books, including Brian’s List – 26 1/2 Easy To Use Ideas on How to Live A Fun, Balanced, Healthy Life! which was the winner of a 2009 Next Generation Indie Book Award in the Self-Help category. Brian’s latest book Finding Your Voice was an award-winning Finalist in both the 2013 USA Book News and the Indie Excellence Book Awards. Brian lives in Los Angeles, California and will be releasing his first children's book "Steve the Alien" in late October of 2016. Visit Brian's website - www.gbrianbenson.com

Categories UncategorizedTags, , , , , , , , , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

